RSS

Chapter 10: Achieving Victories You Never Thought Were Possible

08 Dec

Matthew 18:20 “For when two or three are assembled in my name, I am there in their midst” (NET Bible).

Main Idea

In this journey we call life, we are all faced with decisions—some more difficult than others. But it is the intercession of the Holy Spirit through other fellow Christians’ prayers that make the answers clear.

My Story

I remember times when the circumstances of being a mother seemed very much beyond my control. They burdened my heart and caused great sadness that overwhelmed me; I saw no simple answer. My children were in some difficult situations that I could not parent them through. I saw my role as a mother undermined and feared I would fail without help.

I have several friends with whom I have met for twenty years. They are lovely women who have undergone many of the same trials I have. We consider ourselves a prayer and accountability group. I can share my innermost thoughts and fears with them. We prayed over each situation regarding my children. God worked through them to bring peace to my troubled heart. After that, I only had to trust God, and wait to see what would happen.

Each dire state of affairs was transformed into blessings by God. These experiences were so far beyond my control. But it was the common voicing of my needs and the needs of my friends that worked these miracles in my life. I would not be who I am today without these women. God has truly blessed me and I am ever so grateful to them and their giving hearts.

Discussion

Having the agreement of other hearts in prayer in one’s life can lead to deeper connections with God and his people on a human and spiritual level. The intercessory work of fellow believers creates a blessing and should be valued at each opportunity.

Challenge

  1. Ask God to bless you with a prayer partner, a person with whom you can pray and share your thoughts. This friendship can infuse spiritual knowledge into your life that is more than the power of your own prayers. If you are married, try to initiate this connection with your spouse. This could strengthen your relationship with one another and with God.
  2. From your rising to your setting, make prayer the first and last action of your day. Prayer can change anything, so try to find different times during the day to pray alone and with others. This will connect you with God at spontaneous moments and draw you closer to your fellow Christians.

(Adapted from A Journey to Victorious Praying by Bill Thrasher, Moody Publishers, 2003)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2012 in Book Study, Prayer

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Chapter 10: Achieving Victories You Never Thought Were Possible

  1. Bobbie Keith

    December 8, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    Reading your post reminded me of my own journey through motherhood. You are so right, developing close relationships with others who know the Lord deepens my walk with God. Thank you (and the rest of the “team”) for being one of those friends.

     
  2. ljthames

    December 8, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Loved reading your thoughts! And how very important it is to lean and sometimes lean hard on those blessed friends and cohorts in prayer in situations that can overwhelm us in this journey through our life here! Thank you for the reminder!!

     
  3. bstout

    January 29, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    We truly do need each other.

     

Leave a Reply

 
